Two poems by Rohan Raghavan

GypsyFortuneTeller-Vintage-GraphicsFairy1A Lie

Let me tell you
A little lie
That wanders from curtain
To carpet
With the grace
Of feather tied
To flame

Where will the lighthouse shine now?
O singed quill
Quiver with haste
And sign your
Sigil onto mirror
With mirrored waste
Oh where! Oh where?

Where will that lighthouse
Lay its beams,
And glaze the windows
Wet with the
Vapor waves
Of a heat
Long since ashen?

And there is my lie

A Fortune

When I stopped
To take stock
Of my future,
I knew I had lost

With pallid arm beckoning
Like seagull to land,
I approached
Unaware of the plywood
Arraigning your shores

You took me by the hand,
Through musty corridors,
Husky whispers spilling
Out of your limbs

You sat me down
Across from you,
With crystal ball
Swirling its milky fog,
As white as your hands
And as mysterious, too

But I did not see it.

You asked me:
What do you seek?
And I answered:
I do not know.
What do you see?
I do not know.
How could I know?
My gaze never once
Dripped past yours

And then, your face curdled
Into a smile so wicked,
As you said, in hushed laughter,
Your fortune is done

Dear fortune teller,You took me in
Knowing full well
I could not pay the fee –

Instead,
you took
From me
Any hope of
Escaping your
Phantasms

Leave a comment